Book Review: Joni and Ken

_225_350_Book_849_cover
Book Description:
This is the true love story of Joni and her husband of 30 years, Ken Tada. A love story showing what it truly means for a man and a woman to live in love … in sickness and in health. Even the honeymoon wasn’t easy. Did Ken realize what he was getting into when he proposed to Joni, a quadriplegic woman? As their marriage years moved on, Ken became increasingly overwhelmed by the never-ceasing demands of caring for Joni, who begins to experience chronic, extreme, nightmarish pain. Ken sinks into depression, and the couple finds themselves on parallel tracks in life, married and living under the same roof but drifting apart emotionally. But as they fight for their marriage and find their way through the mazes of depression and pain, they wrap their two lives around their rock—Jesus. During Ken’s denial of Joni’s diagnosis, and Joni’s thoughts of how wonderful a quick exit to heaven would be, they experience a personal visitation with the savior you will never forget.

My Review:

This was not an easy book for me to review.  I am also in a wheelchair and until 1 year ago I was married.  My husband decided after 24 years that he could no longer deal with my wheelchair and wanted a divorce.  It was difficult for me not to compare my personal situation to that of Joni’s.  The book was written in third person, which helps to give the reader a better perspective of the situation.  It reads very smoothly and includes pictures from their lives. Their relationship with Jesus Christ is evidenced throughout the book.  I found the book to be very inspirational and I was able to gain a lot of insight into my own personal journey. This book was more than just a review for me, it has aided in my own healing after my divorce. It is also a Christian testimony that shows the power of Christ in marriage. I highly recommend this book to those who enjoy Christian reading and especially to anyone who is married or divorced with a disability. I think both would find these words very comforting.
I received a complimentary copy of this book from Booksneeze for review. I was not obligated to write a positive review. The opinions in this review are my own.

Leave a Reply

