Book Review: The Shack Revisited

Image

 

Book Description:

Millions have found their spiritual hunger satisfied by William P. Young’s #1 New York Times bestseller, The Shack–the story of a man lifted from the depths of despair through his life-altering encounter with God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. Now C. Baxter Kruger’s THE SHACK REVISITED guides readers into a deeper understanding of these three persons to help readers have a more profound connection with the core message of The Shack–that God is love.

An early fan of The Shack and a close friend to its author, Kruger shows why the novel has been enthusiastically embraced by so many Christians worldwide. In the words of William P. Young from the foreword to THE SHACK REVISITED, “Baxter Kruger will stun readers with his unique cross of intellectual brilliance and creative genius as he takes them deeper into the wonder, worship, and possibility that is the world of The Shack.”

My Review:

I must first preface my review by saying that when I read “The Shack”, I saw it as a good piece of fiction, but I did not see it as a major spiritual awakening for me.  I could see where some people might identify with the main character who was experiencing his own spiritual transformation.  I appreciated it for the fiction that it is and personally I think that evaluating it even further takes from the original text.  Ok, with that being said,  the was a good reflection on the topics presented in the original text.  The author of this book takes a thorough examination of the Trinity as presented in the earlier text.  It gives new meaning to the original concepts and makes us think further into the being of God.  I do agree that this author did an almost complete examination of the Trinity.  I say almost, as we all are not perfect in our thoughts of God.  As the Bible tells us, “Our way are not His ways and our thoughts are not His thoughts.”  If you enjoyed reading The Shack and want to explore the thoughts presented more in depth, then this would be a good book for you to read and study.

I was provided a complimentary copy of this book for review from the publisher. I was not obligated to write a positive review.  The opinions in this review are my own.

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Shack Revisited

  1. It was based primarily on what was written in The Shack with some scriptural information. It was very supportive of what was written in The Shack, so sort of along the same lines and philosophies.

  2. Hi I am so excited I found your web site, I really found
    you by error, while I was looking on Bing for something
    else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

